Monday 19th of February 2018

Follow Us

Breaking News

Smith wins prestigious Allan Border Medal

 Melbourne ,Feb 12,(Fast Mail):-- Perry, Warner, Finch, Richardson, Bailey and Mooney also recognised for a stellar year at Allan Border Medal ceremony.


Ellyse Perry, David Warner, Aaron Finch, Jhye Richardson, George Bailey and Beth Mooney have scooped awards at today’s annual Allan Border Medal Ceremony in Melbourne.


Smith received both the Test Player of the Year award and the Allan Border Medal – the highest honour for an Australian male cricketer – capping off a remarkable, record-breaking 12 months in Baggy Green, while the Belinda Clark Award for the premier female cricketer went to Perry.


Smith, who last month was named the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year, became just the third player to win the Allan Border Medal on multiple occasions, joining his predecessors to the Australia thrown, Michael Clarke (four times) and Ricky Ponting (three).


Smith’s first Test Player of the Year award came in 2015, shortly before he succeeded Clarke as national skipper, while Smith’s (32 votes) nearest rival for the 2018 award was off-spinner Nathan Lyon (26). During the voting period, which stretched from Australia’s tour of India to the conclusion of their 4-0 Ashes triumph, Smith was the most prolific batsman in Test cricket, with 1,305 runs at an extraordinary average of 81.56, which included six centuries from 19 innings.


Allrounder Ellyse Perry won the Belinda Clark Award for the second time, officially confirming her as Australia's best female cricketer. Having claimed the prestigious award in 2016, the 2018 gong rounded off a 12-month period that also saw her named the ICC Cricketer of the Year. The 27-year-old claimed 116


Perry's fantastic year will be best remembered for her double-century in the historic day-night Ashes Test in Sydney, with her 213 not out beefing up her 756 runs across all format, accompanying her 20 wickets at 32.


David Warner was crowned Australia's best one-day international player for the second successive year. Luckily for the opening batsman, Warner’s below-par returns in the ODI series versus England (73 runs in five innings) were outside of the voting period. Despite recent struggles, Warner averaged 57 with the bat in the 12-month stretch, which ran from 8 January 2017. The left-hander accrued 24 votes to win the award by a margin of six, with Smith and allrounder Marcus Stoinis (18 votes each) his nearest contenders.


Usual opener Aaron Finch, who batted at No. 5 against England on Saturday, edged out spinner Adam Zampa and allrounder Moises Henriques to Australia's T20I Player of the Year gong, winning it for the second time.


Rising star Jhye Richardson, who made his ODI debut at the Gabba last month, claimed the Bradman Young Men’s Cricketer of the Year award. His peers rated him as the brightest spark aged 24 or less and who had played 10 or fewer first-class matches during the voting period.



 Bailey scooped the men's Domestic Player of the Year award having completed the 12-month voting period as the leading run-scorer across all three formats – the Sheffield Shield, One-Day Cup and Big Bash League. The 35-year-old has not played a Test match since the 2013-14 demolition of England, but he’s given the national selectors a timely reminder of his credentials. Across all competitions, the Tasmanian skipper scored 1,468 runs at a combined average of 52.43, which included three centuries and 11 half-centuries.


Mooney, the recipient of the Women's Domestic Player of the Year, capped off a tremendous year that had already seen her blaze the highest women's T20I score in Australia and crowned the ICC T20I Player of the Year and Emerging Player of the Year. In 15 matches for Brisbane Heat last summer, she notched 482 runs at 43.81 with a strike rate of 115.58 – enough to edge out Australia captain Meg Lanning (502 runs) for the Belinda Clark Award.


Karen Rolton, Norm O'Neill and Ricky Ponting were inducted into the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame during the night. Players and their partners or guests attended the event at the Palladium at Crown with the awards ceremony commencing at 7.30pm AEST.


2018 Allan Border Award winners


Allan Border Medal: Steve Smith


Test Player of the Year: Steve Smith

ODI Player of the Year: David Warner

Women's Domestic Player of the Year: Beth Mooney

Men's Domestic Player of the Year: George Bailey

T20 Player of the Year: Aaron Finch

Betty Wilson Young Cricketer: Georgia Redmayne

Bradman Young Cricketer: Jhye Richardson

Fast Mail Media,(FMM)

Related Sports News

'I enjoy the tough situations' – Bhuvneshwar

 Johannesburg ,Feb 19,(Fast Mail):-- Bhuvneshwar Kumar said he relishes bowling in pressurised situations after taking five wickets in India's 28-run victory over South Africa in the first T20I in Johannesburg.   Bhuvneshwar Kumar scooped the Player of the Match award after taking a maiden....

Dhawan and Bhuvneshwar star as India beat South Africa to take 1-0 lead

  Johannesburg,Feb 19,(Fast Mail):-- Shikhar Dhawan struck 72 from 39 balls and Bhuvneshwar Kumar took a maiden five-wicket haul in T20Is to give India a convincing win over South Africa in Johannesburg.   India are a team brimming with confidence and they showed it once again in Joha....

‘Will feed off the freshness of new faces’ – Duminy

 Centurion,Feb 18,(Fast Mail):-- Stand-in captain JP Duminy accepts loss in ODIs was a reality check, promises aggressive approach against India’s spinners in T20I series.   It has been a tumultuous time for South Africa, having lost the six-match one-day international series 5-1 to ....

India-South Africa to lock horn in first T20 match today

 Johannesburg ,Feb 18:-- In Cricket, India will take on South Africa in the first Twenty-20 of the three-match series at the New Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg today. The match will begin at 6 PM Indian time.   Suresh Raina, Lokesh Rahul and Jaydev Unadkat are the new additions to the I....

Vice President to inaugurate 8th edition of Theatre Olympics this evening

 New Delhi, Feb 17:-- Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu will inaugurate the 8th edition of the Theatre Olympics at Lal Quila in the national capital this evening. The Culture Ministry said, it is for the first time that India is hosting the event and more than 25 thousand foreign artists will par....

Editor :
Jagadananda Pradhan
Email :
Mob :(+91) 9437155542
Ph : 06764 223911
Contact Us
© 2015 Fast Mail Media Pvt Ltd. All Rights Reserved.
Developed by : FM Media Pvt Ltd.